Resolutions and Direction

This post is for the TC Blog Project. I know that two posts in one day is ambitious but I’m grabbing my chance to write while the baby is sleeping!

The theme for January is, appropriately, resolutions, habits, changes etc. Now, I’ve spent a few weeks thinking about this post and trying to tease out my religious plans for this year from the general mess of everyday life stuff. Then I realised that I was going about it the wrong way. I don’t want my religious life to be separate from the everyday stuff. In fact, I think a lot of the everyday stuff feeds into my religious path in way that I’m only just beginning to see the shape of. So, I’m going to talk about all of the areas that I want to work on this year.

Health

Every year I tell myself that I’m going to get healthy. Then I try to make lots of changes at once and I end up failing and berating myself for it. So my goal this year is to take baby steps toward better health. I’ve started this week by removing bread from my diet and I can feel a difference already. I’m also hoping to start swimming regularly with my sister and just trying to move more on a daily basis. Having been pregnant for most of last year and then recovering from a C-section I’m pretty out of shape so I have to understand that it’ll take some time to get back into the swing of exercise. This goal ties into my religious practice as being healthy and taking care of myself allows me to approach my work for Brighid with more energy and commitment. And as a Goddess of healing, I do Her honour by healing and looking after myself as well as others.

Work

This is a big one for me. I’m one of those people who ends up involved 100% in whatever they are doing and I have, in the past, allowed work to take over my life. This year, my husband and I are discussing some substantial changes – I may be applying for a career break and staying home to care for our two children. Financially this makes sense as almost all of my income would be lost to paying for childcare and the rest would just about cover my travel expenses. I would also love to be at home with my children. But I know myself – I need to be challenged, I need to feel like I’m contributing, I need to have a project. So, this leads to my next topic:

Business

As some of you know, I opened an Etsy shop last year selling handmade gifts and devotional items. So far, it’s pretty much covered it’s expenses but I have not made a profit. If I’m going to be at home instead of in the office for 40+ hours a week then I want to take this business more seriously and really treat it like work instead of a hobby. Being able to support myself in a creative way while nurturing my family will contribute to all of our well-being. In addition to that, it honours Brighid of the Smith and allows me to connect with that aspect of Her. Many of the items that I make are of a religious nature and are inspired by Brighid in some way or another.

Lifestyle

As part of and a result of some of the things discussed above, I want to change my lifestyle. I’m not currently in a position to have what I want – a small holding where we would be as self sufficient as possible – but I can take steps in the right direction. So I plan to spend some time growing food again this year and making as much as I can at home – be that my own sauces and chutney instead of jarred or knitting things for the kids instead of buying them.

Religion and Spirituality

This year, I want to bring my religion and spirituality more into my everyday life. Having been worshipping Brighid for a couple of years now, I feel the urge to dedicate myself to Her which I will be doing at Imbolc. I also want to properly celebrate at least Imbolc, Beltaine, Lughnasadh and Samhain (if I can manage the solstices and equinoxes too that’ll be a bonus) and feel that this is important though I’m not entirely sure why yet.

There are some more things skirting the edge of my mind but this will do for now! I’ll post updates as to how I’m doing with these things – wish me luck!

Badge by Sulischild

Badge by Sulischild

Leave a Reply

