Whole30 – Day 1

So, it’s day one of my Whole30 challenge. I weighed myself this morning and while I don’t feel up to sharing the results here, I will say that I’m the heaviest I have ever been in my life. I’m really hoping that, when I weigh in again on October 1st, I’ll see some movement in the right direction.

So far, I feel ok. I’ve been a bit under the weather for the past few days so the mild headache that I have could be attributed to that or it could be the dreaded carb flu. Of course, it could be stress.

I had a pretty challenging day. I had a new bathroom suite put in, with little notice, at the request of my landlord. That meant there was a lot of noise all day and the baby didn’t really have a nap. I also had no access to water for most of the day. I’m pleased that I didn’t turn to junk food to distract myself from the stress of the day. And from the fact that I felt miserable after seeing the scales this morning.

I’ve been thinking a lot today about health and body image and the work that I have to do in those areas. It all seems so daunting! I have a feeling that I should approach TM about that but… I’m still holding off on that.

If you’re reading along, don’t worry – I’ll try not to ramble so much every day :-). Below you’ll see my food diary for today:

2 boiled eggs, mashed with a little ghee and some salt and pepper.

Bacon, avocado, rocket and cucumber wrapped in iceberg lettuce.

Mulligatawny soup from Nomnom Paleo: Food for Humans. (You’re likely to see me referencing this cookbook a lot – I love it!)

3 cups black coffee
5 glasses of water
1 cup apple and cinnamon herbal tea.

2 thoughts on “Whole30 – Day 1

  1. Would you like tips on combating carb flu? I’ve read a lot about different diets and while I’ve never tried keto or Whole 30 or anything that restricts carbs to that point, I’ve got resources on how to get through them. 🙂

    • That would be great, Sage, thank you. I have looked at things like that in the past but I seem to have misplaced my links at the moment. I’m not going super low carb – I’ll still be eating potatoes and sweet potatoes now and again and other starchy veg which I know some people avoid – but it’s probably low enough to be aware of carb flu

Leave a Reply

